Justin Kane

During a 2021 Chapter Meeting awards ceremony on Tuesday, November 9, three members received recognition for their noteworthy contributions to the association and the profession.

Justin Kane, PT, Board Certified Sports Clinical Specialist, received the J. Perry Silver Award for Outstanding Service to Physical Therapy for contributions spanning at least two decades. Kane’s contributions range from serving as a district leader, long-term use of his clinic for association district meetings, encouraging and financially supporting colleague involvement in association activities, coaching and treating middle and high school athletes in multiple sports, encouraging wellness as part of patient treatment, and serving as a clinical instructor for numerous students.

Amanda BarnesIn addition to notable academic and clinical abilities, Idaho State University DPT student Amanda BarnesOutstanding PT Student of the Year nomination described her leadership during the pandemic in monitoring the well-being of other students during the pandemic and proactively worked with faculty to implement measures “that dramatically improved the mental health and wellbeing of several of her peers who were in crisis.”

Kendra IckesISU DPT student Kendra IckesOutstanding PT Student of the Year nomination also highlighted academic and clinical excellence, as well as her service as the co-founder of the student diversity, equity and inclusion group and as the co-creator of a student-run pro-bono clinic within the ISU Clinics in Meridian.

For more information about APTA Idaho Awards or to nominate someone for a future award, please visit our Awards page.